Edna Elizabeth Barnes-Another Mystery Lady

Edna Elizabeth Barnes was my gr-great grandmother on my dad’s side. She was born about 1824 in Alabama and died in 1900 in Hodges, Texas. She was the third wife of Drayton Bennett McCoy’s  and I believe they married around 1840.  However, I have not been able to find a marriage record or the 1850 census yet to confirm this.


Drayton and Edna had 11 children: 

Henry Lewis, 1840 Attala Co., MS-1917 Morris Co., TX
Evin Boyd, 1843, Attala Co., MS-1919 Taylor Co., TX
Thomas Gilbert, born 1845, MS-1913 Hodges, TX
Erastus Amziah, born 1846, MS-1925 Jones Co., TX
Minerva Lena, born 1848-1867 Kingsland, AR
Swinton, born 1851, MS-bef 1870
Winfield, born 1851, MS-bef 1870
Pleasant Monroe, born 1854, MS-1920 Cleveland Co., AR
Martha Lena, born 1856-1875 AR
Drayton Columbus, born 1858, MS-1908 Ft. Worth, TX
James Bogan, born 1860 MS-1903 CA


The family lived in Snowsville, Choctaw Co., MS in 1860; Princeton, Dallas Co., MS in 1870; and Prairie, Dorsey Co., AR in 1880. Drayton died in 1888 in Kingsland, AR. Sometime after Drayton’s death, Edna and most of her children moved to Texas where she died January 15, 1900 in Hodges. 

Is this a connection or just a coincidence?  When my grandmother, Julia Lou Ella McCoy married Alvin Guthrie  in Hodges, Texas on December 17, 1905, her witness was a Lizzie Massey. I didn’t think much about Lizzie Massey until I found the death certificate for Henry Lewis McCoy, brother of Julia’s mother. Henry’s death certificate shows his mother as Ednia Massey. Now I’m really wondering if the Massey name ties in?

Another unusual thing I’ve run across is the name of Hasseltine. Edna’s son,  Henry named his daughter Melissa Haseltine 1871-1946; son, Thomas named his daughter, Donal Isabell Hasseltine 1865-1886 and son,  Drayton C. named his daughter Hassie. Somehow, I just can’t help but feel this is important.

I have posted umpteen messages on the message boards about Edna. I checked every spelling for Barnes, Hasseltine, McCoy and Massey and nothing shows up. I’ve searched entire counties page by page for census records. I’ve tried to find the death certificates for all of Edna and Drayton’s children and have only been able to find a couple. I’ve even check the Native American rolls for Edna and nothing there either. At this point, I am at a total stand still.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate the help and input. Otherwise, here is another mystery lady! 

Leave a Reply

