GenForum, Genealogy.com, Family Tree Maker Homepages-Closing?

Well, what a surprise and sad to say, not a good one. I went to the GenForum site to update my email address and found this notice:

“Starting Sept. 30, 2014, Genealogy.com will be making a big change. GenForum message boards, Family Tree Maker homepages, and the most popular articles will be preserved in a read-only format, while several other features will no longer be available, including member subscriptions and the Shop.”

It appears Genealogy.com, who is a sister company of Ancestry, is closing several of their operations. How sad!

I am really sorry to see GenForum go by the wayside. The site has always been one of my favorites for posting queries. I search capabilities were more varied and easier to use than Ancestry.s community.

Very disappointed in this news!

 

1-signature

 

 

 

2 responses to “GenForum, Genealogy.com, Family Tree Maker Homepages-Closing?

  1. So very cool! I’m in the process of becoming a certified genealogist and seeing this just made my day. I’ve had several people tell me I should do this (like your blog), Now I’m thinking I might give it a try…

    • I’m a cat lover and love your picture! I’m 67 and have gotten into this mode of what to do with all the family history, so the blog is my answer. It is slowly turning into more than I ever imagined when I started it. I have my family data on RootsWeb and Tribal Pages and have just started adding it to Ancestry. There is a link to my data on the blog, if you want to check it out. So glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

