DNA Results In

My DNA results came in a little over a week ago. At first glance, I was disappointed with the results.  However, I have come to realize, even though the results were not what I was hoping for, they are correct based on my ancestry.

The results show that my ancestors are 100% European!

57% are from Great Britain which includes England, Scotland and Wales but can also be found in Ireland, France, Germany, Denmark, Belgium, Netherlands and Switzerland.

12% are from Europe West which is primarily Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Liechtenstein but can also include the countries of England, Denmark, Italy, Slovenia, and Czech Republic.

10% are from Italy/Greece but can also be France, Switzerland, Portugal, Spain, Serbia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Austria, Croatia, Bosnia, Romania, Turkey, Slovenia, Algeria, Tunisia, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia, Kosovo. As of this moment,  I am not sure how I connect to this group.

8% are from Ireland which  can include Wales and Scotland but also from France and England .

13% are trace amounts combined of 4% from Spain/Portugal, 4% Scandinavian, 3% Finland/North West Russia, 1% Europe East and 1 % European Jewish. I am not sure how or where my ancestors may fit in to this group.

The majority, of my ancestors,  have come  from the highlighted countries of England, Scotland, Ireland, Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands.

At first, I did not have many connections to follow-up on and I was very disappointed. However, as I enter more of my family line into the family tree section of Ancestry, the more hits I do get. So far, there are about 10 solid good hits and then another 200 or so that need to be checked.

Overall, I am happy with the results of my DNA test but still hope to solve the brick wall mysteries that I have. You never know!

 

2 responses to “DNA Results In

  1. Be sure and upload your raw data from Ancestry to GEDmatch if you haven’t done so already. This is a free service that allows you to start comparing specific chromosome segment matches with other people. I have found several “cousins” by looking at strong segment matches and then viewing their trees on Ancestry for likely common ancestors.

Leave a Reply

